National Forum to Advance Rural Education Conference

Greenery has been shown to reduce student stress and enhance attention levels. Gibbon Spanish teacher, Abby Jones, took this quote to heart and is excited to take advantage of the new greenhouse being constructed at the school. Jones, other teachers, and students are excited about all of the agricultural opportunities. 

In the Spring of 2022 Jones, wrote a place-based instruction grant. Her grant proposal entitled, “Flavors and Foliage: An International Greenhouse at Gibbon Public Schools”, will allow students to learn through the planning, cultivation, and preparation of Spanish foods and flavors. The project will also allow all students to celebrate and share Hispanic culture within the school and community. 

Jones submitted her grant proposal to Rural Schools Collaborative and the National Rural Education Association and was chosen as a National Signature Project Award Runner-Up. In addition to being selected as a grant recipient, Jones also attended the National Forum to Advance Rural Education in Green Bay, Wisconsin in late October. 

While at the conference, Jones was able to Network with other rural educators, see a live opening ceremony made possible by the Menominee Tribal Enterprises, attend a session on Engaging Families to Support Multilingual Learner Success in Rural Schools, listen to the keynote by comedian and principal Gerry Brooks, and so much more. 

Jones is excited to share the experiences from the conference with students and other staff members at Gibbon Public Schools. Jones said, “I was humbled and honored to be selected as a grant recipient and was thrilled to have the opportunity to attend such a fantastic national conference. I am so excited to start implementing what I learned.” 

So next time you’re in the area, make sure to check out all of the new and exciting agricultural opportunities Gibbon Public Schools students have. 


Pictured at the National Forum to Advance Rural Education in Green Bay, Wisconsin are: 

Left to Right: Allen Pratt (NREA Executive Director), Taylor McCabe-Juhnke (Rural Schools Collaborative Executive Director), Abby Jones (Nebraska - 2022 National Signature Project Award Runner-up), Lara Belice (Montana - 2022 National Signature Project Award Recipient) & Savannah Franklund (Rural Schools Collaborative Development Manager)